"Taking learning risks is not easy; but if I expect my students to be bold learners, then it must begin with me. "

Being involved with the girls' volleyball team has been a wonderful experience: learning from great coaches (Mr. Hong and Mr. Weltzin), witnessing the girls' progress in skill and confidence, and being inspired by the girls' enthusiastic team spirit at every game.

However, volleyball was never a personal forte; so it was definitely a step from my comfort zone to facilitate an impromptu practice (with Mrs. Shakur, another teacher candidate) and to referee the home games. To be honest, I didn't completely know what I was doing. But sometimes, jumping in, taking the learning risk, and being willing to learn from one's possible mistakes is more important than knowing everything before starting (though not to downplay the need for preparedness). Taking learning risks is not easy; but if I expect my students to be bold learners, then it must begin with me.
IceStone
2/16/2013 12:45:30 pm

that's so cool that you play volleyball! What other sports and passions do you have??

Reply
2/16/2013 01:55:23 pm

@IceStone

Actually, I meant to say quite the opposite- volleyball is not one of my strengths. However, after helping to coach and referee volleyball with the girls' volleyball team, I have learned a lot!

Jogging and badminton would be two of my favorite sports =)

Reply



Leave a Reply.