I love seeing the wonder in students' eyes as they witness an extraordinary phenomenon. These demos and experiments will hopefully inspire their curiosity and prompt questions of inquiry about the intricate world around us. Experiments are grouped by topic.

Density

1. Amazing 9 Layer density tower
2. Dyed ice cube melting in cooking oil
3. Coke Vs. Diet Coke Experiment

Freezing point/ Melting point

4.  “Ice fishing” (Fishing an Ice Cube)
5. Instant Freeze- Soda Ice
6. Homemade ice cream

Chemical vs. physical changes

7. Ivory Soap Souffle- microwave trick

Solubility & Rate at which Substances Dissolve

8. Rock candy

pH- acidic and basic characteristics

9. Red cabbage indicator

Please leave a comment if you have any additional ideas or exciting demos for teaching chemistry!


1/1/2013 04:00:30 am

@ Betty - I love how you are so proactive and looking for new ideas! When your students see this, it will definitely inspire a love for learning in them!

This will be a great resource of ideas for our chemistry unit! I'll be sure to share it with the rest of the Gr.6/7 teachers!

As you mentioned above, these will be great places to start for inquiry assignments!

Keep up the great work! You continue to impress me!

Reply
1/3/2013 06:52:48 am

@ Ryan

Thank you for your kind words.

Yes, I do strive to model the love of learning I want to foster in my students- you have been modelling that to me as well.

I love the way that all the grade 6/7 teachers collaborate and share ideas- I am happy to contribute to that!

Reply
Gallit Zvi
1/1/2013 07:04:21 am

Thanks for sharing this list with us! Hugh and I are doing a chemistry unit next term, so this is handy!!
And Betty, I love that as a student teacher you are already blogging! Fabulous :)

Take care,
Gallit

Reply
1/3/2013 07:15:01 am

@ Gallit

Thank you for taking the time to visit and for your encouragement- I'm glad that this can be of help!

After seeing so many great student blogs, educator blogs, and class blogs, I had to jump in :)

Reply
yhannie
6/29/2013 01:40:15 pm

than you very much for the demonstration on acids. it will really help my students in understanding acids and basis

Reply
jdhnd
7/21/2014 02:31:57 am

ekdum bakwaas site hai kuchh nahi ataa hai ismein

Reply



Leave a Reply.